Prior to the Allstate Sugar Bowl between Texas and Georgia, Longhorn legends Bobby Layne and Darrell Royal will be inducted into the Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame on January 1.

They are part of a 10-member class that is only the second hall of fame class ever to be recognized in Sugar Bowl history.

“The Sugar Bowl has a very proud and storied history. Last year, we created our own Hall of Fame to recognize the legends of our game. This year, we will recognize 10 more of the very best players and coaches to have ever competed in the Sugar Bowl Classic," Rod West, president of the Sugar Bowl Committee, said. “These men all played significant roles in lifting the Bowl to its current level of national prominence, and they gave college football fans some great, great memories in the process.”

RELATED: Back to the Sugar Bowl: The Texas Longhorns' history in New Orleans

Bobby Layne was the Most Outstanding Player during the 1948 Sugar Bowl, in which he led Texas to a 17-7 win over Alabama.

Legendary coach Darrell Royal guided Texas to the Sugar Bowl in his first season at the helm in 1957. The Longhorns were just a one-win team a year prior. Royal also played in two Sugar Bowls for Oklahoma in 1949 and 1950.

RELATED: With OU in the playoffs, Texas is headed to the Sugar Bowl

Texas and Georgia will kickoff at 7:45 p.m. at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans on New Year's Day.