AUSTIN — College football’s preseason awards and watch lists are meaningless to some, but are a nice appetizer to appease fans’ appetites until preseason camp begins in August.

Texas Head Coach Tom Herman was named to the watch list of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year award.

The second-year Longhorns head coach is among 20 notable college football head coaches.

“The Dodd Trophy distinguishes itself from other coaching awards due to the high standards used to determine potential candidates,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “This is the most-coveted coaching award because it looks beyond rankings, wins or losses, and measures the overall impact these coaches have on their players, universities and communities.”

The full list includes:

  1. Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
  2. James Franklin, Penn State
  3. Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech
  4. Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
  5. Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  6. Bryan Harsin, Boise State
  7. Clay Helton, USC
  8. Tom Herman, Texas
  9. Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
  10. Gus Malzahn, Auburn
  11. Urban Meyer, Ohio State
  12. Will Muschamp, South Carolina
  13. Gary Patterson, TCU
  14. Chris Petersen, Washington
  15. Mark Richt, Miami
  16. Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
  17. Nick Saban, Alabama
  18. David Shaw, Stanford
  19. Kirby Smart, Georgia
  20. Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Five of the coaches on the list are previous winners of the trophy, including David Shaw (2017), Nick Saban (2014), Dabo Swinney (2011), Chris Petersen (2010) and Gary Patterson (2009). Four of the coaches were finalists for 2017’s award, including Swinney, Paul Chryst, Mark Richt and Kirby Smart.

The winner will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Week.