AUSTIN — The trophy awarded to the best quarterback in college football will be announced by a familiar face -- a past recipient.

Vince Young, who received the Davy O'Brien Award in 2005, will announce the 2018 winner Thursday night during the College Football Awards show.

Young received this honor during the Texas Longhorns' national championship run 13 years ago.

The Fort Worth, Texas-based award is named after a former Texas Christian University quarterback great.

The late Davy O' Brien was inducted in the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

The finalist for this season's O'Brien award are Oklahoma's Kyler Murray, Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa, and Washington State's Gardner Minshew II.