Gov. Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster in 31 counties across the state on Wednesday.

“As our state continues to face waves of severe weather and potential flooding, it is crucial that Texans remain vigilant and heed warnings and any evacuation notices from local officials in their areas,” Abbott said in a release. “The State of Texas stands ready to assist all counties affected by severe weather and has dedicated the resources necessary to ensure the safety of those at risk. I would like to thank the first responders who have rescued residents from rising waters and ask all Texans to keep those affected in their thoughts and prayers.”

The following counties are included in the declaration:

  • Austin,
  • Bandera,
  • Bastrop,
  • Brazoria,
  • Brazos,
  • Burleson,
  • Coleman,
  • Colorado,
  • Erath,
  • Fayette,
  • Fort Bend,
  • Grimes,
  • Hidalgo,
  • Hood,
  • Jasper,
  • Kleberg,
  • Lee,
  • Leon,
  • Liberty,
  • Lubbock,
  • Montgomery,
  • Palo Pinto,
  • Parker,
  • Polk,
  • Robertson,
  • San Jacinto,
  • Tyler,
  • Walker,
  • Waller,
  • Washington and
  • Wharton

The State Operations Center is continuing to team-up with the National Weather Service and their West Gulf River Forecast Center to monitor river conditions.

The governor also urges citizens to look at the list of safety tips on the Texas Department of Public Safety website. Some of these tips include avoiding low-lying areas when flooding is occurring nearby and to be especially cautious at night when it is harder to see flood dangers.

Go here for the latest forecast.