Austin's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Austin, Texas | KVUE.com

Austin ISD freezes transfers for 28 schools in 2018-19

Austin ISD has frozen transfers for 28 schools in the 2018-19 school year.
Credit: KVUE
Austin ISD

AUSTIN – Nearly two dozen elementary schools are among the list of Austin ISD schools that will not allow transfers during the 2018-19 school year.

The district said Monday that it has determined a total of 28 schools should be frozen to transfers because they have – or are expected to have – enrollments exceeding their capacities.

The following campuses will be completely frozen to transfers in 2018-19:

- Akins High School
- Bowie High School
- McCallum High School
- Lamar Middle School
- Murchison Middle School
- Baldwin Elementary School
- Baranoff Elementary School
- Blazier Elementary School
- Brentwood Elementary School
- Bryker Woods Elementary School
- Casis Elementary School
- Cowan Elementary School
- Davis Elementary School
- Doss Elementary School
- Gullett Elementary School
- Hill Elementary School
- Kiker Elementary School
- Maplewood Elementary School
- Mathews Elementary School
- Menchaca Elementary School
- Oak Hill Elementary School
- Ridgetop Elementary School
- Summitt Elementary School
- Zilker Elementary School

In addition, Becker, Reilly and Sunset Valley Elementary Schools will be frozen for pre-kindergarten through second grades, and will accept dual-language applications. Lee Elementary will be frozen from kindergarten through fifth grade, but will continue accepting transfers for sixth grade.

Austin ISD added in-district transfer requests for the 2018-19 school year may be submitted online, in person, by mail, via fax and via email to the Office of Student Services, and will be accepted Jan. 2-31, 2018. Out-of-district transfers will be accepted beginning Feb. 1, 2018. TAP OR CLICK HERE for more information. People can call the Office of Student Services at 512-414-1726 for more information.