Breaking News
More () »

Austin's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Austin, Texas | KVUE.com

Texan Republicans sweep seats for U.S. House, Doggett remains sole Democrat

Texas Republicans held control of the state's congressional delegation, with Lloyd Doggett remaining the sole Democrat for his eighth term

AUSTIN — In Central Texas, Republicans continue to dominate the political landscape with a majority of them claiming seats in the state's congressional delegation.

In District 35, Democrat Lloyd Doggett was the sole winning Democrat, who won his eighth term by defeating Republican David Smalling. Doggett will continue to represent San Antonio and Austin communities and portions of Bexar, Comal, Hays, Caldwell and Travis Counties.

All other U.S. House members from Central Texas will continue to be Republican.

In District 10, Michael McCaul won his eighth term in the district over Democrat Mike Seigel. McCaul will continue to represent Austin, Colorado, Rayette, Waller and Washington counties, as well as portions of Bastrop, Harris, Lee, and Travis counties.

In District 11, Mike Conaway won his eighth term for the district after beating out his Democratic opponent, Jennie Lou Leeder. Conaway will continue to represent 29 counties including the cities of Midland, Odessa, Cranbury, Brownwood, and San Angelo.

In District 17, Bill Flores defeated Democratic opponent Rick Kennedy. District 17 includes parts of Austin, Bryan, Caldwell, Cameron, College Station, Pflugerville, Rockdale and Waco.

In District 21, candidate Chip Roy also claimed a victory over his Democratic opponent, Joseph Kopser. Roy continues to represent Gillespie and Blanco counties, as well as portions of Austin, Hays, and Comal counties.

In District 25, candidate Roger Williams, who has held the seat since 2013, will continue to hold the seat after he defeated Democratic candidate Julie Oliver. Williams will continue to serve some of the Texas Hill Country stretching from Fort Worth to Austin.

In District 27, Michael Cloud has been re-elected after he defeated his Democratic rival, Eric Holguin. Cloud will continue to represent the Coastal Bend of the Texas Gulf Coast including Corpus Christi, Victoria, and Bastrop County.

In District 31, John Carter will continue to hold the seat after he beat his Democratic opponent MJ Hegar. Carter will continue to represent Williamson and Bell Counties.

For more Election Day coverage, click here.