Myck Kabongo claims team MVP honors


by KVUE Sports

Posted on April 11, 2013 at 8:33 PM

AUSTIN, Texas — University of Texas sophomore Myck Kabongo claimed the team’s Most Valuable Player honor in a vote of his peers, highlighting the 2012-13 men’s basketball team banquet held Thursday evening in the Lone Star Room at the Frank Erwin Center. Freshman Prince Ibeh earned the team’s Most Improved Player Award, while freshman Demarcus Holland was named the team’s Outstanding Defensive Player.


Kabongo, who also was voted the team captain, only played the final 11 games of the year due to a 23-game NCAA suspension to start the year. Upon his return, Kabongo led the team in scoring (14.6 ppg), assists (5.5 apg), steals (2.0 spg) and minutes (37.3 mpg) and ranked second in rebounding (5.0 rpg). He reached double figures in scoring in eight of the 11 contests, including a career-high 31 points in the home overtime victory against Oklahoma (Feb. 27).


Craig Way, “Voice of the Longhorns,” played host to the event. Texas concluded the 2012-13 season with a 16-18 record (7-11 Big 12 Conference).


Award______________________________________________________________ Recipient(s)

Slater Martin Award__________________________ Katherine Allgower (administrative associate)

Mike Wacker Comeback Award_________________________________________ Myck Kabongo

Coca-Cola Solid Citizen Award_______________________________________ Ioannis Papapetrou

Jack Gray Award sponsored by the Texas Exes__________________ Dean Melchionni, Andrew Dick

Athletic Director’s Scholar-Athlete Award_____________________________________ Javan Felix

Jay Arnette Award__________________________________________________ Danny Newsome

Hard Hat Award___________________________________________________ Jonathan Holmes

Earlene Fulmer 3-Point Attack Award_______________________________________ Julien Lewis

Assists Award__________________________________________________________ Javan Felix

Blocked Shots Award_________________________________________________ Cameron Ridley

Field Goal Percentage Award__________________________________________ Connor Lammert

Free Throw Percentage Award________________________________________ Sheldon McClellan

Rebounding Award_________________________________________________ Jonathan Holmes

Hustlin’ Horns Award______________________________________________ Demarcus Holland

Spirit Award______________________________________________________ Dean Melchionni

Outstanding Defensive Player________________________________________ Demarcus Holland

Most Improved Player___________________________________________________ Prince Ibeh

Most Valuable Player_________________________________________________ Myck Kabongo

Team Captain_______________________________________________________ Myck Kabongo

Senior Awards__________________________________________ Andrew Dick, Dean Melchionni