Parcells, Allen elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Parcells and Allen

Credit: Getty Images

Former Dallas Cowboys head coach Bill Parcells and guard Larry Allen were named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.



Associated Press

Posted on February 2, 2013 at 6:48 PM

Updated Saturday, Feb 2 at 6:48 PM

Former Cowboys guard Larry Allen and coach Bill Parcells were named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Allen played for Dallas from 1994-2005 and ended his career with the San Francisco 49ers in 2006-07.

He was part of two NFC championship games and the Cowboys' Super bowl XXX victory.

Bill Parcells was the Cowboys' head coach from 2003-06 and became the first person to coach four different teams into the playoffs when Dallas played in the 2003 Wild Card Game.

The class of 2013 also includes Warren Sapp, Cris Carter and Jonathan Ogden along with a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made Saturday in New Orleans, a day before the Super Bowl.

Five players were eliminated in the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.