‘Click It or Ticket' enforcement period begins Monday

Around the Memorial Day holiday, law enforcement throughout Texas will be actively ticketing drivers and their passengers who are not buckled up, or whose children are not in the appropriate booster seat or child seat.

The Texas Department of Transportation said the “Click It or Ticket” campaign is in the two-week window around Memorial Day, which in 2017 runs May 22 to June 4. TxDOT added that 994 people died from not wearing seat belts in crashes in 2016, a nine percent increase from 2015. Around 62 percent of those fatalities happened between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m.

“Seat belts due in fact save lives and I encourage all Texans to make certain that they buckle up when they get in their vehicles” said Williamson County Sheriff Robert Chody in a statement.

Texas law requires everyone in a vehicle to buckle up or face fines and court costs up to $200. Children 8 years and younger must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4-feet 9-inches. If children who are not properly restrained in a vehicle, the driver faces up to $250 in fines plus court costs.

TxDOT noted that when the campaign was launched in 2002, only 76 percent of Texans used their seat belts. That number today is around 92 percent. TAP HERE for more information.

© 2017 KVUE-TV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment