Emergency responders killed, injured in line of duty honored at Star of Texas Awards

Star of Texas Awards

AUSTIN - Dozens of police officers, firefighters, and emergency medical responders across the state of Texas, who were either injured of killed in the line of duty, were honored at the Star of Texas Awards Monday: including four emergency responders from Central Texas. 

According to the award recipient list, two Austin police officers, one Austin Firefighter and one Bastrop County volunteer were seriously injured in the line of duty between Sept. 1, 2003, and June 15, 2016.

The Star of Texas Awards was created in 2003 to honor and commemorate first responders who put in extreme efforts while serving in the line of duty. Governor Greg Abbott appointed three advisory committees for each category of first responders that reviews each award nomination.

See the full list of recipients for 2016 below: 

Star of Texas Award Recipients by kvuenews on Scribd

(© 2016 KVUE)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment