Don't fall for the latest Facebook privacy hoax

Yet another Facebook privacy hoax is clogging up news feeds everywhere, according to multiple reports.

The words in the post have changed slightly, but the message is about the same. The post claims that Facebook is changing it's privacy policy, which means that "everything you've ever posted becomes public" starting Tuesday.

We're here to tell you that it's a scam. And Facebook is asking that you not share the post if you happen to see it in your news feed.

Here's the text of the widely shared post:

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. just copy and paste.

Snopes.com reports that the hoax can be tracked back to 2012.


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment