Southwest Airlines announces 15 new nonstop destinations from Dallas




Posted on February 3, 2014 at 2:22 PM

DALLAS — Southwest Airlines announced 15 new nonstop destinations from Dallas.

"Goodbye Wright Amendment, Hello America!" the airline wrote on their Twitter account as they made the announcement Monday morning.

The airline revealed they will have nonstop flights:

  • Atlanta
  • Baltimore/Washington
  • Chicago Midway
  • Denver
  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Las Vegas
  • Los Angeles
  • Nashville
  • New York LaGuardia
  • Orange County
  • Orlando
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • Tampa
  • Washington D.C.

"Today, the Wright Amendment restricts us to flying nonstop to only nine states, including Texas, from Dallas Love Field," read a statement from the airline. "We currently offer nonstop service to eight of those nine states."

The Wright Amendment, which went into effect in 1979, will expire on Oct. 13. On that date, the airline will start their nonstop flights in Baltimore/Washington, Orlando, Las Vegas, Chicago (Chicago Midway International Airport) and Denver.

On Nov. 2, nonstop flights will be available for New York (LaGuardia Airport), Washington D.C. (Reagan National Airport ), Nashville, Atlanta, Tampa, Phoenix, Los Angeles (Los Angeles International Airport ), Orange County and Ft. Lauderdale.