All but two incumbents are seeking re-election for Texas’ 36 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Neither of Texas’ two U.S. Senate seats, which belong to Ted Cruz (R) and John Cornyn (R), are on the ballot this year.

U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul (R) is seeking re-election in the Tenth District, which includes all of Austin, Colorado, Fayette, Waller and Washington counties and portions of Bastrop, Harris, Lee and Travis counties. McCaul has been in office since 2005 and has served as the Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security since 2013. He spoke at the GOP National Convention earlier this year and has advised Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump on issues of national security.

McCaul is challenged by Tawana Cadien (D) and Bill Kelsey (L). Cadien also ran against McCaul in 2012. According to Community Impact, McCaul leads Cadien and Kelsey in political contributions.

The most heated congressional race is in District 23. The district is almost equally Democratic and Republican and it is up for grabs this election.


*Winners in bold

District 10:
(R) Michael McCaul - Incumbent
Tawana Cadien
(L) Bill Kelsey

District 15:
(R) Tim Westley
(D) Vincente Gonzalez
(L) Ross Lynn Leone
(G) Vanessa Tijerina

*Incumbent Ruben Hinojosa (D) retiring.

District 17:
(R) Bill Flores - Incumbent
(D) William Matta
(L) Clark Patterson

District 21:
(R) Lamar Smith - Incumbent
(D) Tom Wakely
(L) Mark Loewe
(G) Vanessa Tijerina

District 25:
(R) Roger Williams - Incumbent
(D) Kathi Thomas
(L) Loren Marc Schneiderman

District 27:
(R) Blake Farenthold - Incumbent
(D) Raul (Roy) Barrera

District 31:
(R) John Carter - Incumbent
(D) Mike Clark
(L) Scott Ballard

District 35:
(D) Lloyd Doggett – Incumbent
(R) Susan Narvaiz
(L) Rhett Rosenquest Smith
(G) Scott Trimble

GO HERE for all election results.