Texas Governor Greg Abbott has declared a State of Disaster for 30 counties in anticipation of Tropical Depression Harvey making landfall.

The preemptive State of Disaster declaration includes the following counties:

  • Aransas
  • Austin
  • Bee
  • Calhoun
  • Chambers
  • Colorado
  • Brazoria
  • DeWitt
  • Fayette
  • Fort Bend
  • Galveston
  • Goliad
  • Gonzales
  • Harris
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Jim Wells
  • Karnes
  • Kleberg
  • Lavaca
  • Liberty
  • Live Oak
  • Matagorda
  • Nueces
  • Refugio
  • San Patricio
  • Victoria
  • Waller
  • Wharton
  • Wilson

On Thursday, Comal County Judge Sherman Krause issued a disaster declaration for Comal County.


Harvey's impact on Central Texas

Tracking Harvey: Latest hurricane update

Texas Gov. Abbott speaks to public ahead of Hurricane Harvey

Texas DPS offers hurricane preparedness tips

State of Disaster declared in multiple Texas counties prior to Harvey landfall

Disaster declaration activates the counties' emergency management plans and establishes a record which allows the counties to be reimbursed for expenses related to emergency response and cleanup.

The declaration expires after seven days unless continued or renewed by Commissioners Court.

The governor also ordered the State Operations Center to elevate its readiness level as the possible storm approaches.

Harvey is expected to strengthen into a tropical storm before making landfall later this week. TAP HERE for the latest discussion. TAP HERE for the latest forecast from the KVUE Storm Team.